Why Do I Need To Log In Twice To Access Google Apps On My Emerson Account?

ltttt

IMG_2227

Malcolm Kelner

Lion’s Tooth Co-Founder

 

Hey guys, Malcolm here again, and I have a very serious problem I need to discuss with you. I’ve been biting my tongue on this for too long, but it’s time for me to finally say something.

Why do I have to log in twice to access Google apps on my Emerson account?

We need to talk about this.

Frequently for class projects, I have to use my Emerson account on Google Docs, Google Slides, or Google Drive, and it’s the same infuriating routine every time.

I type in my Emerson username and password to log in to whatever Google app I’m using, I submit it, and instead of taking me to my account, it takes me to ANOTHER blank log-in page, saying, “Google Apps for Education”… where I’m forced to type in THE SAME EXACT THING AGAIN.

I could not be more fed up.

Someone please explain to me why logging in the first time can’t just fully log me in. Is it some sort of security barrier? Doubtful, because both log-ins use the same exact information.

So what’s the issue then? Is it purely a technological oversight? That’s what I’m thinking at the moment, and it’s just absolutely unacceptable.

You’re telling me that Google, one of the titans of the technology industry, couldn’t have found a way to recognize I’m an Emerson student based on my e-mail address suffix, and then simply use both that and my name to take me straight to my Emerson Google account?

It’s as if when I log in the first time, they’re like, “Oh, you go to Emerson. Now tell us what Emerson student you are.”

Well I DID tell you which Emerson student I am, but you only listened to the fact that I go to Emerson! Why didn’t you just listen to both things?!

I’m done being treated like I’m just a number. And I’m done having to log in twice. I have better things to do with my time.

But I know I’m not the only one.

This issue doesn’t just plague me, but thousands of other Emerson students as well. If you’re reading this, you’re probably another innocent victim. Don’t be taken advantage of. Stand up with me and fight for change.

Like and share this article to spread awareness. Together, we can solve this.

One thought on “Why Do I Need To Log In Twice To Access Google Apps On My Emerson Account?

Leave a Reply

